If you own a business in California with even a single employee, you are required to carry Workers Compensation insurance!
Most consumers and business owners are familiar with the term Workers Compensation as a means of coverage for an employee’s medical expenses and/or lost wages as a result of work related injury, illness or death. But did you know that your Independent Contractors in the State of California could also be counted as an employee for Workers Compensation coverage? Based on the specifics of your contract (scheduling, equipment, control of their duties), the courts could determine that you are liable for any work-related injuries.
Many businesses may try to save operating costs by not carrying this valuable coverage but failure to do so could result in one or more of the following penalties:
• Cease and Desist Order from the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement – Until coverage is in place, your business could lose hundreds or thousands of dollars per day by being shut down. [Labor Code section 3722(b)]
• Criminal Misdemeanor Charges – Punishable by up to one year in county jail, fine of up to $10,000 or both. [Labor Code Section 3700.5]
• State Imposed Fines of up to $100,000. [Labor Code Section 3722(d) and (f)]
By working with multiple financially stable companies, our office is able to shop and compare multiple quotes to find you the best combination of coverage and price. Our office, as well as many carriers, also offers Risk Management and Safety Tips to protect your employees from being injured on the job.
When you weigh the cost of coverage against the potential penalties, the smart decision is to purchase and maintain Workers Compensation insurance for your California business. Call us today at (480) 348-2200, or request a FREE quote online, to find out how simple the process can be.