Why does Colorado require me to carry Worker’s Compensation insurance? Because you own a business with at least one full or part-time employee!
Most consumers and business owners are familiar with the term Workers Compensation as a means of coverage for an employee’s medical expenses and/or lost wages as a result of work related injury, illness or death. But did you know that your Independent Contractors in the State of Colorado are considered employees unless they meet the following requirements (Colorado Employer's Guide):
• They are free from the business’ control and direction over how the service is performed; AND
• They are customarily engaged in an independent trade, occupation, profession, or business related to the service being performed.
Many businesses may try to save operating costs by not carrying this valuable coverage but failure to do so could result in one or more of the following penalties (Colorado Employer's Guide):
• State Imposed Fines of up to $250 per day for each day uninsured, for the first violation; up to $500 per day for subsequent violations.
• You are financially responsible for all statutory medical and disability benefits for the injured employee and an additional 50% of all temporary, permanent and disfigurement benefits for being uninsured.
By working with multiple financially stable companies, our office is able to shop and compare multiple quotes to find you the best combination of coverage and price. Our office, as well as many carriers, also offers Risk Management and Safety Tips to protect your employees from being injured on the job.
When you weigh the cost of coverage against the potential penalties, the smart decision is to purchase and maintain Workers Compensation for your Colorado business. Give our office a call at (480) 348-2200, or request a quote online, to find out how simple the process can be.